Top Five Airports Housing Great Art

9 Jun

The first piece of art I ever bought

I am an art lover.  I became a fan in the fifth grade, where my art teacher, Miss Sappington, opened my eyes to Paul Klee and Henri Matisse.  I bought my first piece of official art when I was 16, and I was lucky to grow up in a house where my father valued art on our walls.

My own home is a showcase of African-American artists and Art Deco posters from the early 20th century, although I do have a Salvador Dali lithograph of my astrological sign that my father won at an art auction and gave to me.

So I really enjoyed this New York Times article on the art museum at San Francisco International Airport.  I have spent many a happy day at that airport looking at artifacts from their vast collection.  Below is my list (by no means complete) of airports with great art collections.

  1. Ghost Palms. Miami Intl Airport

    Miami International Airport, South Terminal. And check out my Aviation Week Towers and Tarmacs blog post on the facility’s art efforts.

  2. Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, Terminal 4.  I just love the ceramics collection on display in front of the US Airways ticket counters.
  3. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Concourse E.  The airport has great art, but my favorite installations are in the international terminal.  I’m a quilter, making me a big fan of the art quilts hanging in the concourse.
  4. Calder Mobile, Pittsburgh Intl Airport

    Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, Terminal D. I did a walking tour of this terminal and was just mesmerized by all the great art showcased there.

  5. Pittsburgh International Airport. Not only does this airport have an original Alexander Calder mobile, they have major pieces from the Andy Warhol collection.
One Response to “Top Five Airports Housing Great Art”

  1. You have got to go here... June 12, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    This is really cool! I love to find unusual things like this. I have linked to your blog on mine as I think you have some great tips!

    Crystal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

