Archive | 8:18 am

Airport Concession Confessions: The Full-service Restaurant Edition

5 May

We are in the third in a series of my obsession with airport concessions.  We’ve already done Wines and Quirky Little Stores.  I commend airports for really stepping up their game in the restaurant category.  So below are my top five airport restaurants:

  1. Photo by Benet J. Wilson

    Revolucion, JetBlue JFK Airport Terminal 5:  Back in August 2009, I did a post on Aviation Week’s Towers and Tarmacs blog on Revolucion.  In December 2009 during a long layover at T5, I had the chance to eat there — and it was divine.  They serve authentic Mexican food, as opposed to chain restaurants like Chevy’s.  I had the homemade guacamole and shrimp tacos.  Servers are more than happy to pack up your food for the flight, but I’d suggest doing that for the cold items.

  2. Enrique’s, Ponca City Regional Airport, Oklahoma: In 2002, I was working on securing Essential Air Service contracts in seven cities, including Ponca City.  We went for a town tour, then we got back to the airport, which was packed.  But it wasn’t for people flying. It was for the food at Enrique’s, which is the airport’s restaurant.  I still dream about the tortilla chips and salsa, and the go-to dish there is Chicken Huarrache (sp).
  3. Paschals Restaurant, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport: I’m not from the South, but my parents are.  I grew up eating the food of the South, including fried chicken, grits, fried catfish, mac and cheese and collard greens.  Paschals makes me long for my mother’s cooking.
  4. Obrycki’s, Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport: those of us in Baltimore love our Maryland blue crabs and are very loyal to our restaurants.  Obrycki’s has been an institution in Baltimore since 1944, and they bring that to the airport.  The crabcakes and deviled crab balls are a must-try if you don’t want to wrestle with crabs.
  5. Café Versailles, Miami International Airport: this airport outlet of a popular Cuban restaurant sells the quintessential hot Cuban pressed sandwich.  Wash it down with a cup of café con leche and you’d swear you were in Havana!!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers