Hotel Review: Fairfield Inn & Suites North, Atlanta Airport

19 Apr

I recently went to Atlanta to work on a series of stories about Delta and Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. I usually love to stay at the Renaissance for the fantastic views of ATL’s runways, but that wasn’t in the budget for this trip, so I ended up at the Fairfield Inn & Suites North Atlanta Airport. The hotel has a free shuttle that goes to and from the airport.  They will also give you a lift to local restaurants and to Delta headquarters, eliminating the need to rent a car.

I love a hotel room that offers good value for the money ($104 a night), and this one hits the mark. I was allowed to check in early, and the clerk alerted me that the water was off due to a water main break about a 1/2 mile away from the hotel; he also apologized for the inconvenience.  I got a call letting me know that the water was back on, again , with an apology.

This is a very clean and Spartan-chic stylish hotel that smelled of lemon furniture polish.  My room had a nice sized bathroom with an oversized shower, basic soap/shampoo/conditioner and a hair dryer.

I asked for a King bed, but got two doubles.  But it was fine, because the bed was really comfortable, with a nice duvet and my beloved foam pillows.  I loved the 32-inch LG flat-screen TV, and it had a swivel that allowed me to watch from the desk, the bed and the far side of the room while ironing.  But I wish they had one of those iPod docking station alarm clocks rather than the old-school digital one next to the bed.

The desk was large enough to handle my laptop and all my digital equipment.  There were plenty of plugs, but you did have to crawl under the desk to get them.  The chair was ergonomic and very comfortable. And the lamp desk was a nice touch.  And thank you, Fairfield Inn, for the free wifi.

Not only did I get a coffee maker, but I had a microwave and a nice sized fridge in my room, which I used for my free bottled water. The hotel also served a free breakfast, with choices including waffles, egg/sausage, egg/ham and egg/bacon breakfast sandwiches, Quiche, cereal, muffins, toast, english muffins and fresh fruit.  There was also three juices, coffee and assorted teas.  I had the egg/sausage sandwich, which was quite tasty.

The staff was very friendly, greeting me by name and inquiring  about how I was doing (I just love the manners in the South).  And the general manager came over, introduced herself and asked me questions about my stay and her staff.  I would recommend this hotel, and the reviewers at Trip Advisor agree, giving the facility 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

