Archive | 8:48 am

Best of Aviation Queen: Budget Travel Asks: Where Do Travel Editors Vacation?

9 Apr

Editor’s note: kids, Auntie is recovering from the Easter weekend, so you get a best-of today.  In the post, I write about places I like to visit on those rare occasions I’m not traveling.  I thought it was timely, as this is spring break time for many across the country. This first appeared on the blog Sept. 29. Enjoy!

I’m a big fan of Budget Travel magazine, and I was intrigued when I saw this recent article where they revealed where their staff goes on vacation.  I get this question from a lot from folks.  Here’s my answer.

After spending hours upon hours on planes for my day job, all I want to do is avoid any sight of an airport. One of the best vacations I ever did was a road trip across America, back in 1992.  My friend was moving from Michigan to Seattle to begin his medical residency and asked if I wanted to tag along. I did, and I suggest that everyone do at least one trip across America in their lifetime (I’ve done three).  I got to see the actual Field of Dreams, check out the Butter Festival at the Iowa State Fair, see the Badlands and visit the Corn Palace, both in South Dakota.

I like to hit the open road and go to the beach.  Some of my favorites are Dewey Beach in Delaware, Duck in the Outer Banks of North Carolina (bonus-you can visit the Wright Brothers Memorial at Kill Devil Hill) and Normandy Beach in New Jersey (I knew about this WAY before the TV show “Jersey Shore”).

I also enjoy trips to Virginia wine country (Barbourville is a personal favorite), playing tourist in Washington, D.C. (with visits to the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum and the Hirshorn Museum and Sculpture Garden a must-see) and, of course, New York City.

So where do you go on your vacation?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers