10 Folks You Should Be Following On Pinterest

22 Feb

Yesterday, I posted about my love for Pinterest, along with all my aviation/travel geek-related boards. Today, I share 10 people I’m following on Pinterest.

  1. Stacy Small (@EliteTravelGal) – not only is Stacy one of the best luxury travel agents on the planet, her Pinterest travel-related board photos make me want to grab my passport and take the next flight to a high-end resort.
  2. Johnny Jet (@JohnnyJet) – Johnny’s website is my go-to site for all kinds of travel information. And his Dream Trips board makes me want to pack myself in his luggage.
  3. Kate Trgovac (@mynameiskate) – Kate is one of my online friends, a digital/social media marketer and my go-to person when it comes to travel and laptop bags. I interviewed her for Aviation Week’s Towers & Tarmacs blog on security-friendly laptop bags, and she has a cool board — Funky Laptop Bags (which includes her own bag designs).
  4. Meena Thiruvengadam (@msmeenameena) – I met Meena when we were both taking a multimedia course at the Poynter Institute back in 2010. We found we were fellow travel lovers, but Meena takes it to another level. Her boards include Favorite Places and I Will Go Here.
  5. Paula Berg (@paulaberg) – Paula is the digital media lead at Denver-based Linhart PR, but her real claim to fame is making her former employer, Southwest Airlines, a powerhouse in social media. I’m following her as she develops her boards for Southwest and Social Media.
  6. Josh Hallett (@hyku) – Josh is my social media sensei (he leads the social media practice at Voce Communications), an extensive traveler and a true aviation geek (check out his Flickr photos from Sun N Fun 2011). And also check out his Travel board.
  7. Mira Lowe (@MiraLowe) – Mira is the former editor of Jet magazine and currently teaches at Northwestern University and Loyola University Chicago.  She’s someone I’ve admired and respected for years, and we’re both active in the National Association of Black Journalists. I find myself regularly repinning from Mira’s boards, including Big Apple, Windy City and Passport.
  8. Christopher Elliott (@elliottdotorg) – I follow Chris on Twitter and am a regular reader of his website. I saw that he was following me on Pinterest, so I followed back. OK, so he doesn’t have any boards yet, but I know his will be good when he starts pinning.
  9. Joy Finnegan (@AvMainMag) – Joy has had an interesting career. She’s currently editor-in-chief Aerospace & Security Media and was editor of Rotor & Wing magazine. She was a pilot at Legend Airlines and has worked at Gulfstream Aerospace, Cessna and Galaxy Aerospace. Check out her boards Favorite Places & Spaces and Travels With Joy.
  10. Emma Carew Grovum (@emmacarew) – Because there is more to life than aviation/travel, I chose Emma as my last — but not least — pick for this post.  We all have to eat, and if you want some great ideas, Emma’s boards are the place to be. She’s Digital Editor for The Cooking Club (@CookingMag) and I’m proud to be one of Emma’s journalism mentors.

7 Responses to “10 Folks You Should Be Following On Pinterest”

  1. jenn seeley (@jenn_seeley) February 22, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Pinterest is going to get extra pinteresting I believe for the worlds of aviation and travel. I’m already seeing great travel brands doing neat stuff with

    Tahiti Travel Planners: http://pinterest.com/tahititravel/
    Dave&Deb Travel: http://pinterest.com/theplanetd/
    Four Seasons Hotel Austin: http://pinterest.com/fsaustin/

    Thanks for the post, I’ve followed a few new aviation and travel folks thanks to you! (even though some of them aren’t really pinning much yet)

    Cheers!
    Jenn Seeley
    Community Engagement, Radian6

    • Aviation Queen February 23, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      Jenn-thanks SO much! I’m just having too much fun with these Pinterest boards. And I’m now following those boards you recommended!! :)

  2. johnnyjet February 27, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Thank you Aunt Benet for including me in your list!

    • Aviation Queen March 1, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Thank YOU, Johnny, for including me on your Website of the Week blog post! And you inspired me to create my Airports Pinterest board. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t posted it before!!

  3. Melissa Alcorn March 2, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Great list! Founds lots of new boards to follow.

    This is another great board that focuses on family travel:
    http://pinterest.com/mackidtravel/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top Five Interesting Stories Of The Week « Aviation Queen - February 27, 2012

    [...] – one on how I’m using the boards to show off my love of travel and one on what travel-related Pinterest members you should be following.  Since the second post, some of my favorite aviation/travel folks have [...]

  2. Website of the Week: Pinterest.com | Johnny Jet - February 28, 2012

    [...] 10 Folks You Should Be Following On Pinterest [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

