My (Travel/Aviation) Interest In Pinterest

21 Feb

I went to Austin, Texas, last month for a data journalism geek unconference.  The first night we had dinner at Stubbs BBQ, and my dinner companion was Lauren Young, owner of Little Lamb web design (she’s currently redesigning this site).  She started talking about how much fun she was having with Pinterest.  For the uninitiated, check out this article in the Wall Street Journal profiling the website.

I love using Pinterest to show off many things, but my favorites are my aviation and travel boards.  The first board I created was one with pictures of my beloved Boeing 747, which has 101 followers.  My next board was Cool Aircraft Liveries, which has photos of some of the best aircraft paint jobs of the present and past, with 97 followers. I work across the street from Frederick Municipal Airport, so I created Seen At Frederick Airport (FDK).

I am a BIG fan of art deco airline/travel posters, and have them hanging in my home and office. My Art Deco Travel Posters has 92 followers.  I created a board made up entirely of the graphics I use for my Strange But True Aviation News column. And then I have boards entitled Lord, I Was Born A Ramblin’ (wo)Man and Places I REALLY Want To See, with 94 followers each.

Tomorrow’s post will be on 10 folks you should be following on Pinterest.  Not on Pinterest yet? Drop me an email at AuntBenet AT Gmail DOT com and I’ll get you an invite.  Enjoy!

4 Responses to “My (Travel/Aviation) Interest In Pinterest”

  1. kimberlynalleyne@gmail.com February 21, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Great as usual, Benet! I just started my board and I am having a blast with it.
    -Kim Alleyne

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Folks You Should Be Following On Pinterest « Aviation Queen - February 23, 2012

    [...] I posted about my love for Pinterest, along with all my aviation/travel geek-related boards. Today, I share 10 [...]

  2. Top Five Interesting Stories Of The Week « Aviation Queen - February 27, 2012

    [...] week I wrote two posts on Pinterest – one on how I’m using the boards to show off my love of travel and one on what travel-related Pinterest members you should be following.  Since the second post, [...]

  3. My Pinterest Board: Art Deco Travel Posters – Cool! « Aviation Queen - April 16, 2012

    [...] on Feb. 21, I did a post on how I’m using Pinterest to show off all my travel obsessions.  A funny thing has happened [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

