Archive | 8:01 am

Rolling Aviation Thoughts

21 Dec
  • Me on O'Hare's new runway 9L/27R in July 2008.

    My friend Aileen Cho of Engineering News Record did a great story on Chicago’s $6.6-billion O’Hare International Airport modernization program.  Check out my Aviation Week Things With Wings blog post on the history of the project as of February.

  • On the one hand, I like the fact that I can buy into Delta Air Lines’ Sky Clubs (my favorite U.S. airline lounge) for $50.  And the airline did a deal on Groupon where it offered half-price day passes or five passes for $89.  On the other, if I were a Diamond Medallion member or someone who had paid $450 for a year of access, I’d be a bit cranky (like Brett Snyder) too, as outlined in the Star-Tribune.
  • @davesniadak of the HDHubby blog says: Gogo inflight Wi-Fi has absolutely revolutionized travel. I find I’m now extremely productive when I fly, even when I’m jammed in the middle seat between two other people (mind you, I’m 6’5″ and try my best to stay within my seat). Seeing as how I’ve never been good at sleeping on planes, airborne wi-fi helps the long legs go by faster.
  • Smarter Travel has released its list of 10 destinations to watch in 2012.  I’ve been to six of them, and most I’d return to in a heartbeat.  One I haven’t been to is Cuba, and that’s near the top of my list of places I really want to visit.  My frienemy Brett “Cranky Flier” Snyder has been. He let me sip the rum, which was divine! Also check out Budget Travel’s top budget travel destinations in 2012.
  • Back during the Christmas holidays in 1998, I went to Oberpfafenhofen, Germany, to work on a story about the now-defunct aircraft manufacturer Fairchild Dornier.  As part of that trip, we got to go to Munich and visit the Christmas market on the Marienplotz.  Some advice: when they ask if you want peppermint schnapps in your Glühwein, JUST SAY NO!! Lonely Planet offers five more great Christmas markets in Europe.
  • I love airports almost as much as the writer of this blog post in the Irish Times.  And my heart was warmed by one of my favorite travel writers, Christopher Elliott, who writes in the Washington Post about holiday travel kindnesses.
  • I’m proud – but also kind of sad – that my six-year-old daughter goes through the airport security checkpoint better than most adults.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers