Archive | 9:06 am

Best of Aviation Queen: I LOVE Sitting in 1st/Biz Class! Don’t We All?

2 Aug

Editor’s note: I’m in Philadelphia this week attending the National Association of Black Journalists annual convention. I won’t fool myself into thinking I’ll actually post this week since I’m presenting and hosting several other side events. The post below first appeared on my blog on Dec. 15, 2010.  Enjoy!!

 

The Aviation Queen in Emirates

As an aviation journalist and former airline employee, I have been fortunate enough to have been able to sit in some pretty sweet first and business class cabins, both foreign and domestic. We all have our favorites (mine are Singapore Airlines foreign, Continental Airlines domestic).

From March 2006 to December 2008, I covered the airports beat. Through that beat, I had the chance to meet some really great people whose job it is to fly the world to bring new and expanded service to their airports. One evening after a social gathering, we started talking about the joys of sitting up front. We started comparing our experiences on the world’s airlines, laughing about our favorite saying: “turn left or turn around.”

Some of the officers of 1st/Biz Class

As a joke, I proposed that we create a Facebook group to share our experiences. So I created “I Love Sitting In 1st/Biz Class.” I told the original group of five people about the page — Kevin Schorr (Vice President, seats); Brian Pratte (Vice President, inflight amenities); Justin Meyer (Vice President, non-obtainable upgrades); Kristin VanderHey Shaw (secretary-treasurer); and Vicki Jaramillo.

But it turned into that old Faberge organic shampoo commercial from the 1970s: …and they told two friends, and they told two friends. And we have some really interesting people in the group, including former New York Times auto/travel reporter Micki Maynard; Ben Mutzabaugh, USA Today’s Today In The Sky columnist; and Wendy Perrin of Conde Nast Traveler (one of my favorite magazines).

So here we are, two years later, with 306 members, several interesting chat threads and almost 500 photos and some videos from people who have been kind enough to share. So I hope you’ll join us in the group. The more the merrier!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers