Why You Need To Get An American Express Card

14 Jun

You all remember those classic TV and print ads for American Express — “Don’t Leave Home Without It.”  In case you don’t, below is one I plucked from YouTube, featuring cartoon voice master Mel Blanc.

Well, kids, I lived those words this past weekend on a trip to New York City for a journalism geek unconference.  Long story short, my wallet was stolen.  All my credit cards, cash and – most importantly — family pictures — all gone in a flash.

I happen to carry the American Express Zync Card, which I describe as an Amex card with all be benefits with a lower yearly fee, $25 (as opposed to the $95 a year fee for the classic green card.) One of the best things I did when I enrolled was to give  them my other credit card numbers for credit protect.

So once I realized my wallet was really, really gone, I whipped out my iPhone, clicked on my AMEX app, clicked on the Contact Us link and that’s when the magic began.  The first soothing person got on the phone and apologized for what happened and assured me that they would take care of me.

And take care of me they did. First, they cancelled my AMEX card.  Then they passed me to the lost and stolen department for an emergency replacement card (I walked to the Marriott Marquis on Times Square to get it). They asked if  I needed cash (no, thanks).  I was then transferred to credit protect, where they got my information and called ALL my other credit card companies to get those cards cancelled, including my company credit card.

They called me while I was filing paperwork to report the crime at the Midtown South NYPD station to let me know that all my cards had been cancelled and new ones would be mailed.  They checked to see if I was OK and if I needed anything else (no, I was fine).  They even called the Westin to let them know I was still coming.

And I have to give a shout out to the great staff at the Westin New York Times Square (a review of that hotel will come later this week) for being so nice after the whole ordeal.  They were kind enough to upgrade me to a corner room with KILLER views of New York City.

So what could have been a real disaster of a trip was saved, thanks to the fine folks at American Express.  So if I sound like I’m shilling for American Express, I am.  Their customer service can’t be beat, and that $25 yearly fee has already been covered.  So kids, don’t leave home without American Express!!

9 Responses to “Why You Need To Get An American Express Card”

  1. 77 Munkaruha June 14, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I don’t need American Express Card! :P

    • Aviation Queen June 14, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Maybe you don’t. But I’ll have an American Express card for as long as they’ll have me! :)

  2. Laurie Meisel June 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Benét, I am soooo happy that things worked out! Your weekend could have taken such a different turn but thankfully, you had the right team on your side, and American Express now has a new brand evangelist for life! You can’t buy that kind of marketing!

    Now, I am looking forward to hearing ALL about the unconference!

    Thanks for making time for me in between your busy weekend.

    • Aviation Queen June 15, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      Laurie-you are right. I will be a fan of AMEX for the rest of my life. The unconference post is coming! And thanks for all your help in New York City.

  3. Don March 12, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I advise all my friends to get at least one AmEx. I think the Gold card is great and the customer service is far superior to Visa or Mastercard. The $125 annual fee is a small price to pay, especially if you do a lot of travel!

    • Aviation Queen March 13, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      I’d consider a gold card when I grow up. But for now, the Zync card really does fill all my needs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Travel Safety Tips For Women (And Men) « Aviation Queen - June 30, 2011

    [...] On Tuesday, I had the pleasure of moderating an online forum — Safety and Security: Threat Mitigation for the Traveling Businesswoman — for the National Business Aviation Association (NBAA).  This is a topic near and dear to my heart, especially after the theft of my wallet in New York City earlier this month, which I blog about here. [...]

  2. 10 Things I Keep In My Emergency Travel Kit « Aviation Queen - September 2, 2011

    [...] my bonus pick? My American Express Zync card (read why, here)!  So what’s in your emergency travel kit? Eco World Content From Across The Internet. [...]

  3. Aviation Thoughts… « Aviation Queen - January 25, 2012

    [...] I get treated very well with my Amex Zync card, at only $25 a year.  Read about my treatment, here. Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

