Archive | 12:22 pm

A Random Aviation Photo

2 Dec

I have a Flickr account that has more than 6,000 pictures on it, most of them aviation/airline/airport related.  So just for fun, I’ll occasionally post one and give the back story.

The photo below was taken back on Nov.  8, 2008, as part of the celebration to open a fourth runway at Washington Dulles International Airport, one of my favorites.

I was doing a story for Aviation Week on the opening of that and three other runways.  The acting administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration was there for the occasion. As part of the event, we got to spend about a half hour in the Dulles air traffic control tower.  The views were great (even for a person like me with a fear of heights).  I snapped this shot from the outside balcony.

 

View from Washington Dulles Airport's Tower

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers